TL;DR
Get everyday helpers delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
A Seniors Guide report presents four U.S. destinations for travelers seeking winter activities: Fairbanks for Northern Lights viewing, Ely for dogsledding, Big Bear for skiing with milder-weather options, and Glacier National Park for ice bathing. The report includes example costs and preparation tips, but the supplied source cuts off during its description of Glacier National Park, leaving details of that option incomplete.
Seniors Guide has outlined four U.S. winter getaways for travelers interested in cold-weather activities, including Northern Lights viewing in Alaska, dogsledding in Minnesota, skiing in Southern California and ice bathing in Montana. The report pairs destination suggestions with example costs and practical planning advice, giving readers alternatives to conventional resort trips while noting that winter travel requires attention to weather, gear and lodging.
For aurora viewing, the report points to Fairbanks, Alaska, where visitors can watch the Northern Lights at their own pace. It describes soaking at Chena Hot Springs as one option and cites Alaska-based filmmaker J.J. Krehbiel, who recommends guided snowmobile tours for a more active outing. The report puts those tours at about $160 or more per adult, a night at Chena Hot Springs Resort’s Moose Lodge at roughly $310, and nearby rental cabins at about $180 to $210 nightly. Krehbiel cautions travelers to check whether a cabin is a “dry cabin,” which may lack running water.
The second suggestion is dogsledding in Ely, Minnesota, which Explore Minnesota deputy director of outdoor recreation Randolph Briley describes as the nation’s “sled dog capital.” A half-day excursion is typically about $250, according to the report, which also advises budgeting an additional 10% to 20% for a guide’s tip. Briley says the needed personal equipment is mainly warm clothing in layers. The report says lodging prices are generally lower in mid-to-late January through February and on weekdays; it gives examples ranging from wilderness cabins at $50 to $200 per night to resort cabins at about $425.
For travelers who want skiing without spending the whole trip in a cold climate, the report recommends Big Bear Mountain Resort in California. Visitors can ski or snowboard and then travel toward the coast or visit Temecula Valley. Snow Summit offers night tickets on select evenings, with prices starting at $59 for nights and $79 for a day pass; a full equipment-rental package is about $35. Lodging in the area is listed at roughly $250 or more per night. The report says the Free Big Bear Trolley serves the three ski resorts and village shops and restaurants, which can help visitors avoid limited parking.
Planning Trips Around Winter Activities
The report’s central point is that a winter getaway need not mean a week at a major ski resort. Its examples span guided outdoor activities, lower-cost lodging and flexible itineraries, and it encourages travelers to choose what they want to do before settling on a destination. That approach may help readers compare the cost and physical demands of a trip, particularly when specialized equipment or transportation could add to the budget.
Its practical details also flag expenses that can be easy to overlook: guide tips, rental gear, nightly lodging rates and the difference between weekday and holiday pricing. In Fairbanks, the warning about dry cabins has a direct comfort and planning implication during severe winter conditions. At Big Bear, public trolley service offers an alternative to driving and searching for parking. These are examples and estimates from the report, not guarantees of current availability or prices.
The article also reflects broader interest in outdoor recreation, citing an Outdoor Industry Association report that 183.2 million Americans participated in outdoor recreation in 2025. The supplied material does not provide the report’s comparison baseline or further details, so the figure should be read as a reported participation count, not as a quantified increase.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Four Destinations, Different Winter Experiences
The report frames winter travel as a choice between escaping the cold and using it as part of the trip. Its four ideas range from viewing a natural phenomenon to taking part in guided activities, with Big Bear presented as a way to combine skiing and milder-weather outings. It also notes that travelers can arrange trips independently or use a travel service, including companies geared toward older travelers.
Costs vary substantially by activity and accommodation. For instance, the report’s Ely examples include basic wilderness cabins as well as higher-priced resort cabins; the Fairbanks section lists both a resort lodge and less expensive cabin rentals. Those figures are snapshots from the source material. Rates, operating schedules, weather and access can change, so travelers would need to confirm details with providers before booking.
““Not every winter trip needs to be a weeklong vacation that requires a flight, a rental car and a ton of specialized gear.””
— Sierra Shafer, editorial director at Outside Inc.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Prices and Glacier Details Need Checking
The report’s listed rates are approximate, and the source does not give a publication date. Current prices, tour availability, snow conditions and operating schedules are not confirmed in the supplied material. Travelers should verify costs and access directly with lodging providers, tour operators and destination services before making plans.
The source text ends partway through its Glacier National Park section, after describing ice bathing at Grinnell Lake and a 10-mile round-trip hike to Iceberg Lake. It does not provide the rest of the route description, costs, seasonal access information, safety guidance or details about whether those locations are currently suitable or accessible for ice bathing. No further claims about that option can be established from the material provided.
The report also offers broad destination and activity suggestions rather than individualized advice about fitness, health or mobility. It does not specify accessibility provisions for the excursions, nor does it establish that cold-water immersion is safe for every traveler.
Chena Hot Springs Resort accommodations
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Verify Conditions Before Booking
Travelers considering any of the four trips should confirm current rates, reservations, weather and route access with the relevant businesses and local authorities. For guided outings, that means checking what clothing or equipment is supplied, whether participants need to meet particular requirements and what happens if conditions change. For lodging, the report’s dry-cabin warning makes it sensible to ask specifically about running water and other facilities.
Anyone considering the Glacier ice-bathing suggestion would need more complete, current information than the supplied report provides, including trail status and local guidance. The source does not announce a follow-up date or a next official milestone; its practical next step for readers is to verify trip details before booking.
warm layered clothing for winter outdoor activities
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What four winter destinations does the report recommend?
The report suggests Fairbanks, Alaska, for Northern Lights viewing; Ely, Minnesota, for dogsledding; Big Bear, California, for skiing with access to milder-weather outings; and Glacier National Park, Montana, for ice bathing.
How much does dogsledding in Ely cost?
The report estimates a half-day dogsledding excursion at about $250 and suggests budgeting another 10% to 20% of the price for a guide’s tip. Actual prices should be checked with operators.
What does the report say about Northern Lights trips in Fairbanks?
It describes viewing the aurora at Chena Hot Springs or taking a guided snowmobile tour. The source lists tours at about $160 or more per adult and warns visitors to check whether cabin rentals are dry cabins without running water.
Are the prices in the report guaranteed to be current?
No. They are approximate examples, and the supplied material does not state its publication date. Contact lodging providers and tour operators to confirm current rates and availability.
Does the source provide full details for ice bathing in Glacier National Park?
No. The supplied text cuts off during the Glacier National Park section. It mentions Grinnell Lake and a 10-mile round-trip hike to Iceberg Lake but does not include complete access, cost or safety details.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
