TL;DR
Get everyday helpers delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission says Agrish has reannounced and expanded its recall of adult portable bed rails, adding more units because the products pose entrapment and asphyxiation risks. The agency says the rails violate a mandatory safety standard. The supplied notice does not identify the added quantity, affected model details, incident count, or consumer remedy.
Agrish has reannounced and expanded its recall of adult portable bed rails, adding additional units over a risk of entrapment and asphyxiation, according to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. The agency says the rails violate the mandatory safety standard for adult portable bed rails and warns that the hazard could result in serious injury or death.
The CPSC’s recall notice identifies the products as Agrish adult portable bed rails and describes the development as an expansion of an earlier recall. The notice headline says additional units have been added, but the supplied report text does not state how many units are included in the expanded recall or give the products’ model numbers, lot codes, purchase dates, or retail channels.
The agency identifies entrapment and asphyxiation as the reason for the action and says the products violate a mandatory standard that applies to adult portable bed rails. Its notice characterizes the potential outcome as serious injury or death. The source material provided here does not describe a specific incident, explain the precise design or use conditions that could lead to entrapment, or state whether injuries or deaths have been reported.
The available source text also does not give the consumer instructions or remedy, such as whether purchasers should stop using the rails, contact Agrish, receive a refund, or obtain a replacement. Consumers need to consult the complete CPSC notice and the company’s recall information to identify affected products and follow the applicable directions. The CPSC says federal law prohibits selling products covered by a Commission-ordered recall or a voluntary recall conducted in consultation with the agency.
Risks for Bed Rail Users
Portable bed rails are used beside beds, but a rail that does not meet the required safety standard can present a hazard to the person relying on it. The CPSC specifically cites entrapment and asphyxiation, risks that can have severe consequences. The agency’s warning makes checking whether a rail is included in the expanded recall important for consumers, caregivers, and anyone who purchased the product for another person.
The expansion also means that a product not covered by an earlier version of the recall may be included in the updated action. Because the source provided does not list the additional units or identifying information, readers should not assume that a rail is unaffected simply because it was not recognized under the earlier notice. Product identification and the official recall instructions are needed before drawing conclusions about a particular rail.
The mandatory-standard finding gives the recall a regulatory dimension beyond a general product warning. The CPSC says the rails violate the standard; the supplied material does not reproduce the agency’s technical findings or explain which specific requirements were not met. That distinction matters: the hazard and standards violation are stated by the agency, while the detailed basis and the scope of the added units are not included in the source text available here.
adult bed rail safety standard compliant
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
An Earlier Recall Expanded
The CPSC notice frames this action as a reannouncement and expansion, indicating that Agrish had previously been subject to a recall involving adult portable bed rails. The current notice adds further units to the action. The source material does not provide the date or terms of the original recall, so it is not possible from the supplied information to compare the two notices or establish how the added products differ.
The CPSC is the federal agency responsible for addressing unreasonable risks of injury associated with consumer products. In its general notice language, it says federal law bars the sale of products subject to a Commission-ordered recall or a voluntary recall undertaken in consultation with the agency. The agency directs the public to CPSC.gov and SaferProducts.gov for safety information and reports of dangerous products or product-related injuries. Those general details do not substitute for the product-specific recall instructions, which are not present in the source material supplied for this article.
““Risk of serious injury or death from entrapment and asphyxiation.””
— U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
bed rails for elderly with entrapment prevention
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Details Missing From Notice Text
The supplied source text does not specify how many additional units are covered, how consumers can distinguish them, or which models and production dates are affected. It also does not identify the original recall date, provide sales figures, name retail platforms or stores, or describe the specific design issue behind the entrapment hazard. Those omissions prevent readers from determining from this material alone whether an individual rail is part of the expanded recall.
The source provided does not report whether anyone has been injured or killed, whether the company has offered a refund or replacement, or what immediate steps the CPSC directs owners to take. These details should not be inferred from the hazard warning. The complete recall notice may contain information beyond the text supplied here; until those product-specific details are checked, the precise reach of the expansion and the remedy remain unclear.
recalled adult bed rails replacement
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Product IDs and Instructions
Consumers who own an Agrish adult portable bed rail should compare the product with the full CPSC recall notice and any instructions issued by Agrish. The notice’s identifying information and remedy are not included in the source material available here, so owners should verify the model and other product details through official recall channels rather than relying on the product name alone.
The CPSC says people can visit CPSC.gov for safety information and SaferProducts.gov to report a dangerous product or product-related injury. The agency also lists its hotline at 800-638-2772 (TTY 800-638-8270). Any further update on the number of affected units, consumer remedy, or company response would clarify the scope of the expanded recall; those details are not stated in the supplied report.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Why did Agrish expand the bed rail recall?
The CPSC cites entrapment and asphyxiation risks and says the adult portable bed rails violate the mandatory safety standard. The agency warns the hazard could cause serious injury or death.
Which Agrish bed rails are included?
The supplied source identifies Agrish adult portable bed rails but does not provide model numbers, lot codes, or other identifying details for the additional units. Check the complete CPSC notice for the product-specific list.
How many units were added to the recall?
The source material says additional units were added but does not state the number. The size of the expansion cannot be confirmed from the information provided.
What should owners do with a potentially affected rail?
The supplied text does not include a specific stop-use instruction or explain whether Agrish is offering a refund or replacement. Owners should consult the full CPSC notice and Agrish’s official recall instructions for the applicable steps.
Does the notice say anyone was injured?
The source material provided does not report an injury or death count. It describes the potential hazard but does not establish whether incidents have occurred.
Source: primary
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
